Monday, June 10, 2013

Notations 1: Deyoe and Rosenzweig

I am excited to present the first installment of a weekly series called Notations! Inspired by Cage's 1969 bookNotations is a collection of graphic scores, hand drawn music calligraphy, computer code, compositional sketches, text scores, and other innovative forms of musical notation.

Every Monday we'll showcase notation by two different composers, primarily focusing on those local to Los Angeles. The first two composers are Nick Deyoe and Jake Rosenzweig.

All images used with permission, and copyright is retained by each image's respective creator. Click on the images to see a larger view.

Wir Aber Sketch 1 by Nick Deyoe
Nicholas Deyoe is a composer, conductor, and guitarist born in Colorado and currently living and working in Southern California. Drawn to sounds that are inherently physical, Nicholas strives to create music that engages listeners intellectually and emotionally by appealing to their inner physicality. His compositions make use of noise, delicacy, drama, fantasy, brutality, and lyricism to create a diverse sonic experience. 

More info at

Alpha Male by Jake Rosenzweig
(it can also be read upside down)
Jake Rosenzweig is a musician primarily concerned with structured improvisation and surreal juxtapositions of musical materials. He holds an MFA in Jazz Bass from the California Institute of the Arts and currently lives in Los Angeles. Other projects include Stupid Man Suit, The Sogo Takeover, The Storytelling Band, Lumber Party, and Rosie Cromwell.

More info at

No comments: